IRRELEVANT

May 25, 2009

Ok, I’m going to stop naming posts after whether evertettemaddox.org is up or down, on or off line or asleep on a bench at the back of the Internet. Since it’s gone and I’m here all alone here’s another poem out of the Google Books partial copy of The Everette Maddox Songbook.

IRRELEVANT

I’m not going to
dignify Mozart
or metaphysics
any longer by
pretending they touch
me. I won’t even
say I like these leaves
except as they swirl
against a special
emptiness. Nothing
is relevant since
losing you is what
my life is about.

– Everette Maddox, The Everette Maddox Songbook

One Response to “IRRELEVANT”

  1. lilred83 Says:

    I got drunk with Rette. over and over and over.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

